Four KO resolutions adopted by the chiefs of the Assembly of First Nations

The resolutions (number 58 through 76) adopted by the Chiefs and their representatives at the December AFN gathering in Ottawa are now available online starting at

Four of these resolutions were presented to the chiefs by the team from Keewaytinook Okimakanak who worked with chiefs from across the country to move and second these resolutions. The four KO resolutions include:

  • Resolution no. 70C/2005: Support For Keewaytinook Okimakanak‚Äôs Telehealth Services In First Nations was moved by Proxy Alvin Fiddler, Fort Severn First Nation, and seconded by: Chief R. Paul Nadjiwan, Chippewas of Nawash First Nation, ON
  • Resolution no. 70D/2005: Support For Equitable Access To Broadband Applications In Satellite Served First Nations was moved by: Chief Jacob Strang, Poplar Hill First Nation, ON and seconded by: Chief Shane Gottfriedson, Kamloops Indian Band, BC
  • Resolution no. 70E/2005: Support For The Development Of The Keewaytinook Okimakanak Public Digital Library was moved by: Chief David General, Six Nations of the Grand River Territory, ON and seconded by: Chief Stewart Phillip, Penticton Indian Band, BC
  • Resolution no. 72/2005: Support For First Nation Schools Telecom Connectivity, Technologies And Broadband Infrastructure Requirements was moved by Chief David General, Six Nations of the Grand River Territory, ON and seconded by Chief Joseph Hall, Tzeachten First Nation, BC

Resolution 73 directs AFN to begin "Webcasting All Assembly Of First Nations (AFN) Assemblies", something that Keewaytinook Okimakanak has been facilitating for several years now at the KO Chiefs meetings and other special events. This will allow everyone with a broadband connection to watch and even participate in these gatherings.